Jump to the content zone at the center

Japan's Union of Kansai Governments Visits Taipei

Both parties looking forward to further collaboration in medical care, technology, education and culture

The Union of Kansai Governments brought a 30-strong delegation on a visit to Taipei City Hall on the afternoon of August 30, 2016. Mayor Ko and Kyoto Governor Keiji Yamada both wish for more collaboration and exchanges in the areas of medical, technology, education and culture in the near future. This was the first time that the heads and deputy heads of all the Kansai prefectures have visited Taiwan at the same time, and is a sign of the friendship between Taiwan and Japan.

The Union of Kansai Government was established in 2010 with the union of eight prefectures (Kyoto, Osaka, Shiga, Hyogo, Nara, Wakayama, Tottori, and Tokushima) and four cities (Kyoto, Osaka, Sakai, and Kobe).

Governor Yamada, who also represents the Union of Kansai Government, stated that the purpose of this visit was to take increase collaboration between Taipei and the Union in tourism, business, and cultural exchange. Representatives from other counties also stressed their desire to promote their local attractions in order to attract more tourists from Taipei and Taiwan.

Mayor Ko welcomed the Union of Kansai Government. Hosting the meeting were city hall officials including Mayor Ko, Commissioner Lin from the Department of Economic Development, Commissioner Xie from the Department of Tourism, Commissioner Jeng from the Department of Sports, Commissioner Lee from the Department of Information and Executive Secretary Yao from the International Affairs Advisory Council.